A department of the City of Irving, the Convention and Visitors Bureau reports to a Board of Directors appointed by the Irving City Council. Board terms are two-year commitments; appointees may serve a maximum of three consecutive terms. To learn more about the City’s process for boards and commissions, or to submit an application, please click here

The Board of Directors makes recommendations to the City Council about convention facilities, assists with attracting visitors to the city and hires the executive director; it is a policy-making board.  Board member “job descriptions” have been offered by the Board & Business Development Committee and may be found here.  Annually, Board Members conduct a self-evaluation; that form can be found here.

Annually, the Board elects its new Chair and Vice Chair, and committee positions are established following that meeting. There are four standing committees:  Executive Committee, Board and Business Development, Community Engagement and Destination Development. 

The full board meets the fourth Monday of each month at 11:30 a.m. at the Irving Convention Center, an Irving hotel or other location. Committee meetings are held at the direction and discretion of the individual committee chairs (typically quarterly), with the exception of the Executive Committee which meets monthly on the Friday prior to the full board meeting. Board and committee meetings are posted on the City’s website here.  Correspondence to Board members may be directed in care of the Irving Convention and Visitors Bureau, 500 West Las Colinas Boulevard, Irving, Texas 75039.

Karen Cooperstein

Board Chair

David Cole

Board Vice Chair


Bob Bourgeois, Voting Director

Herbert Gears, Voting Director

Julia Kang, Voting Director

Clem LearVoting Director, Past Chair

Rick Lindsey, Voting Director, Past Chair

William Mahoney, Voting Director

Greg Malcolm, Voting Director

Richard Stewart Jr., Voting Director


Ex Officio Members

Kim Andres, Irving Arts Center

Beth Bowman, Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce

Dallas Burke, Dallas County Utility & Reclamation District (DCURD)

Stephanie Fenley Garcia, Industry At-Large

Todd Hawkins, Irving Arts Center

Chris Hillman, Irving City Manager

Nydia Hoskins, Omni Las Colinas Hotel

Kim Limon, Hampton Inn Irving-Las Colinas

Hammond PerotLas Colinas Association

Joe Philipp, Former ICVB Board Member

Michael Randall, Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Zone No. 1

Sam Reed, Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce

Clare Venegas, University of Dallas


Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Kyle TaylorIrving City Council