IRVING, Texas (April 26, 2012) - The Irving Convention and Visitors Bureau (ICVB) board of directors elected Chris Arrington as chairman and Jack Spurlock as vice-chair to new terms which began immediately upon their election this January.

Through his history on the ICVB board since December 2007, Arrington lead under various roles including chair of the board's Community Relations Committee, vice-chair of the board's Development Committee, and most recently served as vice-chair, prior to appointment as ICVB board chair, following past chair James Cassels.

"Working with Chris Arrington on many community events and issues over the years, I am excited to see him take the reins of the ICVB board of directors, and am looking forward to his leadership," said Maura Allen Gast, executive director for the ICVB.

During his 26 years as an Irving resident, Arrington served and volunteered with the Irving Healthcare Foundation Board for eight years, the Irving Humane Society Board for five years, Irving Schools Foundation for six years, Farine Elementary and MacArthur High School Campus Improvement Committees (CIC), Irving Cares Irving Soccer Association, Irving Bible Church's Indoor Soccer Teams for eight years; and currently sits on Irving ISD's Hall of Fame Committee, the Pierce Early Childhood School's CIC and chairs Irving Bible Church's "Big Man Party."

Arrington holds a career as national account manager for BD Medical, a Diabetes Care Business Unit in Irving, and works with the Texas Diabetes Council Work Committee and the Diabetes Coalition of Texas. He achieved national, regional and local leadership positions with the American Diabetes Association (ADA), and previously served as the ADA Walkathon chair. Arrington is a 44-year Texas resident and graduate of Texas Tech University.

Following his initial six-year term on the ICVB board of directors from 1996 - 2002, Jack Spurlock returned to the board on April 1, 2010, and received his second election to vice-chair this January, his first being from 2000-2001.

"With Jack Spurlock in the wings as vice chairman, we have the advantage of his long-term, active engagement and leadership throughout Irving.  He has seen the ICVB board in its infancy, and now returns to a leadership role as both the ICVB and the destination have matured."

From active involvement with AMBUCS on a local and national level for more than 33 years, to past positions including Irving Board of Realtors president in 1986, twice elected Irving City Council member, two-time appointee and three-year chair of the Irving Planning and Zoning Commission, current chair of the Irving School District Safety Task Force, and a recipient of Irving's High Spirited Citizen Award, Spurlock continues to achieve leadership roles and awards within multiple community and service organizations throughout 47 years of Irving residence.

Spurlock received 10 awards alone from service to AMBUCS, including recognition as National AMBUC of the Year and National Presidential Exemplary Service, in addition to several awards gained through his real estate career and other community service projects.

The ICVB welcomed several new board members beyond the new appointments of Arrington and Spurlock as chair and vice-chair:

Voting Members

  • Citizen Appointee: Sam Smith, former ICVB board chair and former Irving City Councilman
  • Citizen Appointee: John Gustafon
  • Restaurant Industry Representation: David Cole, iFratelli Restaurants

Non-Voting Members

  • University of Dallas Representative: Robert (Bob) Galecke
  • TIF Board Chair: Bruce Kamis
  • DCURD Board Chair: Danny Opitz
  • Salesmanship Club/HP Byron Nelson Championship Representative: Mike McKinley
  • Former ICVB Board Member: Dan Matkin, former Irving Mayor and a former ICVB board chair

The ICVB board of directors, comprised of 11 voting and seven non-voting members, is a policy-making body that oversees bureau operations, including the new Irving Convention Center at Las Colinas. Board members are appointed by the Irving City Council for up to three two-year renewable terms.