Diana Pfaff
972-252-7476 or 800-247-8464

IRVING, TEXAS (June 10, 2008) - The Irving Convention and Visitors Bureau (ICVB) board of directors elected Dr. Carlton Turner to serve as vice-chair, while the Irving City Council appointed Roland Medina to the ICVB board. Dr. Turner moves into the position previously held by Ike Guest, who passed away earlier in the year, and Medina fills the board's vacant position. Terms for both Dr. Turner and Medina began immediately.

Dr. Turner has served as a director of Carrington Laboratories - now called DelSite, Inc. - since May 1989, and as president and chief executive officer since April 1995. He's also served as president of Diagnostic Laboratories of America, Inc., and from 1981 through 1987 was director of the Drug Abuse Policy Office of the White House as President Reagan's principal advisor on drug abuse policy. In addition, Dr. Turner has served as research professor and director of the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy and a director of Tutogen Medical, Inc. He is also a past president of the Irving Healthcare Foundation board of directors. Dr. Turner was appointed to the Irving CVB board of directors in 2005.

Medina retired from the Government of the United States Civil Service and Military Service with 35 combined years of active service and reserve military duty. At the time of his retirement, Medina was a USDA Regional Systems Administrator for Risk Management Agency. The 36-year Irving resident has held board and leadership positions with many civic organizations, including the Greater Irving/Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce, Mayor's Human Relations Advisory Committee, Irving Parkland Health Center, Irving Preservation and Redevelopment, Irving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Irving\'s Sister Cities, Irving Rotary Club, Irving Heritage Society, and the Serra Club at the University of Dallas.

The ICVB board of directors, comprised of 11 voting and seven non-voting members, is a policy-making body that oversees bureau operations. Board members are appointed by the Irving City Council for up to three two-year renewable terms.